Friendship Comes In All Colours

A friend is one who knows us, but loves us anyway. ~Fr. Jerome Cummings

Recently, I noticed several of my readers (not like I have many at this point) are from other ethnic groups.  I’m grateful for that!  I have a rainbow of friends.  I don’t have much time today to discuss the beauty of having friends from all walks of life and races, but I want to take a quick moment to share a funny story, or a story I found funny some years ago.

Truly I think Black people can sometimes be as harsh and unforgiving towards other ethnic groups as other racial groups are sometimes towards Black’s [laughter].  But I have several White friends I enjoy. When they celebrate their accomplishments I celebrate with them and when they are sad I cry with and for them.  Honestly, many of them, just like my Black friends, hold my deepest secrets about my life and aspirations.

This story is about friendship, gaining of trust, love and respect of all people.  One day a Black friend came to visit me when I lived in my old home.  And since I am a person that loves art I surround myself with such beauty without bias.  I buy Black art, art with flowers or nature and art with people from other cultures.  As a matter of fact, when the house went on the market I was permitted to leave my artwork on the walls, because no one could conclude the house belonged to a Black person.  Any-who-how, there were photos sitting on my fireplace mantel.  My friend, being curious, got up from the place she was sitting and began to scan them.  Then I hear these words coming from my den, “Girl, when are you going to take these White folks out of here and put a picture in this frame?”  I was puzzled by her remark.  I knew she was talking about the stock photo copy that comes in picture frames, but I knew, or at least I thought I had removed all the stock photos copies from the frames sitting on my mantel.   So I go to see what she was talking about.  When I got to the frame of question, within in its boundaries was a friend I knew loved me.  She was and is a White female.  She was and still is as precious to me as my Black friends and family members.  She never forgot my birthdays.  Every year she made me a birthday cake and brought it to work to celebrate the day of my earthly arrival.  She remembered my birthday when my family members would forget it!  She always shared what little she had to brighten my bleak life.  She became my inspiration to not give up when all hope was gone.  I immediately turned to my Black friend that I also cherished and told her, “Girl, that’s not a stock photo!”  And with a hardy laugh, I said, “That’s my friend Ronna and her son!”  Nothing else needed to be said.  We laugh and continued on with our visit.

I urge and wish people from all races to stop by and visit.  I welcome each of your comments and insight on matters about women of color as we each continue to learn how to bridge the gap on racial issues.  Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

