Overcoming Moments of Defeat

“Don’t be distracted by criticism. Remember-the only taste of success some people have is when they take a bite out of you.”  ~Zig Ziglar

I believe everyone has moments of defeat.  Recently I threw in the towel to life.  Sadly, for months I buried my head within the pillows of my old worn and comfortable couch.  Without taking a vote from everything that makes me Annette my spirit said, “That’s it I’m done!”

As the most important part of me walked out the door for a much-needed rest my work continued to demand my attention.  Attention I didn’t have to complete each task that generate income.

Can you say, “overload.”  I was over my head and without knowledge to aid me in moving forwards.  I was lost.  Worse, yet, I have no one in my circle to help me navigate through the rough waters.  And the demands of my family seemed unfair, unwarranted, unreasonable, and most of all lacked understanding.  I became pissed!

I was pissed at God!  I was pissed at me!  I was pissed with my husband!  I was upset with my children that came across as ungrateful!   I was upset with my grand-daughter’s mom!  I was upset with my aunt!  I was upset with the world!  I felt I had been dealt a bad hand!  I wanted to give up!  But something deep within kept saying “keep going.”

Today I woke up with a new frame of mind.  Professionally I am scared to see if I have disgruntled emails from clients that have paid for my services they have not received.  I must brave the day.  I must redeem my efforts on becoming an excellent business woman; therefore, I will write an email of apology to my clients and give them dates they can expect the products ordered, but most of all I must find a way to overcome this moment of defeat.

Leave a Reply

