Grammatical Wednesdays – The Difference Between a Verb and a Predicate

Last week I wrote a blog-post stating a sentence requires a subject and a predicate.  However, this week I have learned a sentence must have a verb but the verb can also be a predicate.

The difference between a predicate and a verb is subtle, with a predicate relying on the use of a verb. In some sentences, a predicate and a verb can be the same word or, in the case of more complex sentences, you may use an additional verb to help describe a predicate. Knowing the difference between a predicate and a verb will help you formulate more complex sentences and identify common grammatical mistakes in your writing.

Read more: Difference Between a Predicate & a Verb | eHowhttp://www.ehow.com/info_8455026_difference-between-predicate-verb.html#ixzz2Ugx0HRNi

Whoa!  Laughter!  Do I have my work cut out for me.  Yikes!

The more I learn what formulates a sentence the more I’m learning I need to take my time in studying and blogging about grammar.   Thus, helping me to truly grasp the different parts of speech before I share information learned.

I don’t know about you but, it excites me to finally begin learning how to write and speak proper English.

Leave a Reply

