Honesty and Intimacy

Love Letters to My Black Son's

Intimacy means being real, but not always being nice. We live in a world of appropriateness and politeness where we have all culturally agreed not to make each other uncomfortable or press each other’s buttons. This habit of holding-back creates insipid and stagnant relationships. I don’t want you to hide the truth from me when you see me behaving smaller than I really am.. I want your challenge, your insights and above all your ruthless honesty.  —Jamie Catto

Yesterday I met a handyman that instantly earned my respect.  You could tell he was a hard worker and life choices had not been kind to him.  But . . . he was brutally honest when it came to what he wanted sexually from a woman.

He wasn’t a good looking man but he wasn’t an ugly man.  His clothes had been stained with various shades of paints and grime from handyman…

View original post 419 more words

Leave a Reply

