Becoming More Than Just a Survivor

I realize today is “Taboo Tuesday” but I need to switch up my message.  Lately it seems as if I am having such a hard time with life.  As it appears I’m going through the storm of uncertainty alone.  Yet, something deep within whispers to my soul that  there are others that feel as I do about life.

This might come across as TMI (too much information) but everyday I sit in the bathroom an contemplate my life, the lives of my children, the lives of their children and so forth and so on.   And to top things off is:  most people say I should not worry about those I will never meet.  But, I think differently because I have come to learn that the past always step on the heels of the future.  And I am trying desperately to change the course of my family’s outcome that was affected by my teen choices.

What I want for myself I also want for my children and my descendants.  I want to be “more than just a survivor” and I want my children and my descendants to be people that live life on the plus-side.  I guess what I am trying to express here is that I want my children and my descendants to be ordinary people doing extraordinary things!

This morning as I sat in the bathroom lost for words to pray about my current state of mind I picked up a book titled “The Power Of A Praying Woman” by Stormie Omartain.  Her words of wisdom confirmed that I am not alone in the sea of uncertainty, as her words of wisdom renewed my desire by reassuring with spiritual reminders God wants me to have life more abundantly.

I found Mrs. Omartain’s words so powerful and note worthy  that I shared them below:

More Than Just a Survivor

Stormie OmartianIf you’re like me, you don’t want to live the kind of life where you are barely hanging on.  You don’t want to merely eke out an existence, find a way to cope with your misery, or just get by.  You want to have the abundant life Jesus spoke of when He said, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10).

We don’t want to be women who hear the truth but seldom act in faith to appropriate it for our lives.  We don’t want to be forever grappling with doubt, fear, insecurity, and uncertainty.  We want to live life on purpose and with purpose.  We find it boring to live like a baby, feeding only on milk.  We want the solid food of God’s truth so we can grow into a life that is exciting and productive.

None of us enjoys going around in circles, always passing through the same territory and coming back to the same problems, same frustrations, same mistakes, and same limitations.  We don’t want to become calloused, hard-hearted, bitter, unforgiving, anxious, impatient, hopeless, or unteachable.  We don’t want to end up with a negative attitude that says, “My situation will never be any different because it hasn’t been any different for a long time.”  We want to break out of any self-defeating cycle of repeated patterns and habits and be able to transcend ourselves, our limitations, and our circumstances.  We want to be more than just a survivor.

We want to be an overcomer.  We want to be a part of something greater than ourselves.  We want to be connected to what God is doing on earth in a way that bears fruit for His kingdom.  We want to have a sense of purpose in our lives.  We want to abound in God’s love and blessings.  We want it all.  All God has for us.  But we can never achieve that quality of life outside the power of God.  And then only as we pray.

 

 

Leave a Reply

