Throwback Thursday: Marvin Gaye’s Exceptional A Cappella Voice

It is so hard to believe this incredible talented man was shy.  Wow!  Right!

For me, after seeing this video I decided to research Marvin Gaye.  I wanted to learn more about the him the man [and not the singer].  There wasn’t much that had been uploaded on the internet about his personal life that I didn’t already know.  As usually it was mostly bad stuff.  To be honest, I was not surprised.  It’s sad how people are only interested in the bad things when it comes to the rich and famous.  It seems that people are never really concern if the person that is in an influential position is truly making a difference.  Well any-who-how . . .

I can remember hearing Marvin Gaye’s tantalizing voice being resonating from the speakers of my moms record-player.  I also remember how she would let his music play over and over for hours.  It was as if his melodies would transport her to a place that was only for her to enjoy.  I knew she had reached her fantasy destination when I would start misbehaving and she said not a word.  Talk about a little person taking advantage of the situation.

Let’s just say, not only did Marvin Gaye inspire many lasting relationship through his ability to connect lovers, but he saved me from getting many tongue lashings and spankings.  As my mother used his latest hits to transport her from the harshness of life.

So when I heard this sound track of Marvin Gaye singing a cappella, I was transported back to a time I enjoyed my mom the most.  Not only did I return to a time where I was allowed to be a mischievous kid; but, my memory allowed me to remember how my mother set the mood for her to enjoy an evening to listen to one of her favorite vocalist, that eventually became one of my favorite male artist.

Marvin Gaye’s music makes him timeless.  I realize the phrase “timeless” is normally used when referring to to music and not the artist; but it’s as if Marvin Gaye never got older than the music he recorded so long ago.  His larger than life performances captured on film still gives his craft the ability to make women swoon even after his death.

As I watched several documentaries about his life, I discovered he was a kind man.  He was generous with his fortune and he never met a stranger.  For a kind and generous man, Marvin Gaye had his share of troubles that later spilled into the public as his tribulations finally became the reason for his death. But despite his tragic ending he has left a music legacy that will be hard to meliorate.

Personally I have always loved his song “What’s Going On.”  It’s something about that song that reaches deep inside of my soul and makes me want to do what is right by humanity.  As a matter of fact I am sitting here jamming to the tune and saying aloud “what a man!”  And if you listen real close you can hear his Christian up-bring coming through this particular song.  For those of you that do not know Marvin Gaye or have not heard ‘What’s Going On’ I’ve inserted the video below for your listening and viewing pleasure:

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Marvin Gaye’s Exceptional A Cappella Voice

  1. Ths is a nice article but, from what I understood he wasn’t real shy in fact he was outgoing. He also didn’t accept barked orders his way. He was a rebel and a scrapper. Now that was something I thought was compelling. Mr. Gaye as a fighter…….I would have never expected that. I got my source page up as well for the information related about it. This is a awesome article too might I add…

      • Thanks I’ll have to youtube it. I source the most of my content when I have to blog on it. Thats what I was wondering. I appreciate the follow up though I will definitely cross examine it and annotate that addendum.

      • I’m not sure if it was under Tammi Terrell or under his. But I do remember hearing it. Have a great evening. Oh! By the way I enjoyed your blog-post about his song “What’s Going On.” I found it very informative. Great job!

Leave a Reply

