Is There A Such Thing As Monday Morning Blues?

its-monday-morning-but-its-okOf course!  And I always have it!

Yesterday, I worked without stopping.  As a matter of fact, I didn’t take my normal breaks that come with my usual lame excuses.  I was truly on fire!  Yeah!  [Chuckle]  I know!  I just thought about Alicia Keys’ song “This Girl is On Fire” also.

Gosh, I hope I don’t have that song playing in my head all day.  Not that I don’t like it . . .  But I just don’t want it playing in my head all day!  You know what I mean!  I hope I didn’t cause you to start singing ‘This Girl is On Fire’ in your mind either.  Laughter!  Well back to the subject at hand.

I woke up early this morning but I didn’t rise early but I stayed in bed.  I watched a movie I would have never watched had I not had the blues.  Truth is I didn’t know I had the blues.  It’s been with me for so long that I feel my temporary sad state on Monday mornings is the norm.

Honestly, I just thought I was struggling with a mild case of depression.  But what is truly happening is my soul is lamenting over a loss or in my case losses.  And when I lost whatever meant so much to me I didn’t mentally and emotionally process the situation(s) to satisfy my soul’s thirst to be spiritually feed.  I didn’t supplement things needed for my hungry soul to feel feed in wholeness.

So this morning as I waited for the feelings of sadness to leave I laid in bed and watched a movie that added to my sadness.  I wonder how many other people lay in bed on Monday morning.  I wonder how many people are faced with sadness of yesterday.  I wonder do they realize they have the power to change things for the better despite missed opportunities.  I wonder do they ever try to go within their wounded souls and hug the person that loves them.

Until today I never realized why I am sad on Monday mornings.  I was once told by a dear and old friend, “Once you know something it gives you power to make changes.”  Therefore, the change I am making now is my attitude.  I am going to search for reasons within me, all day, about why I should be happy oppose to why I should allow my soul to continue to lament over missed opportunities.

For after all I am blessed and there is no one in my life that I would want to change places with.

Happy Monday!   

 

2 thoughts on “Is There A Such Thing As Monday Morning Blues?

Leave a Reply

