Day Eight: Some People Like Being Stuck on Stupid

Photo credit:  Unknown

Photo credit: Unknown

Today I did something foolish. I was driving down the HWY minding my business with a plastic cap on my head (the reason for the cap was I was deep conditioning my hair), and my son needed to be at class before the conditioning was finished.  However, like I was saying I was minding my business when I spotted a car full of Caucasian women riding with the gas-cap flapping in the wind.

So I tried to motion to the driver to look back and see the possible hazard.  Instead she and her passengers thought I was nuts.

So foolish me tried again to get each of their attention (not realizing they were thinking I was nuts).  Instead they began to laugh.  Sadly, since, I could see the potential hazard I didn’t find anything funny.

Then the driver pulls in front of me and slowed down.  So when the opportunity for me to get along side of their car again, I took the opportunity to try to warn them again!  As I was trying to tell these women about the hazard my husband was on the phone.  He finally had enough of me trying to warn the women and said, “Let them figure it out on their own.”

It was foolish of me to think a car full of white women with a Kansas license plate would listen to me, driving a car with a plastic bag over my head and motioning to the trunk of their car.

And though this was about me warning a driving about a potential hazard I find the attentions of all involved most like life.

Life is a HWY.  And sometimes when people can see a possible hazard and try to warn us we avoid all contact with them; because we think their thoughts, comments, and or racial differences are threatening.  When you meet such people you just gotta realize some people like being stuck on stupid!

Leave a Reply

