Day Thirteen: A Den of Snakes

Photo Taken From:  Winnipeg Free Press

Photo Taken From: Winnipeg Free Press

This morning I woke to a spiritual headache.  I was so angry with a loved one.  They had asked for my help and did not take my advice.  Thus, causing them to suffer even more at the hands of those I deemed as snakes.

In my frustration I called a friend.  Before she could tell me anything I was complaining about the situation.

I wanted to cry.  I thought I needed to cry.  But I could not cry.  I told my friend “When you are in a den of snakes you walk carefully.  You don’t want to step on a snake because they can bite you.”

My friend listened.  She was patient despite her hunger.  She had just gotten out of bed and was just starting her day.

My friend is one of those people who makes her bed before she leaves her room.  She’s a person that takes her shower in the morning as soon as her feet hit the floor.  And!  Yes!  She’s one of those people who gets dress for the day.  Afterwards, she makes herself a cup of coffee, a small breakfast and begins cooking dinner.  By noon day she has finished all her chores and dinner is ready long before evening mealtime.  So my early morning call truly interrupted her schedule; and for that I’m sorry I allowed my emotions to get away from me.

As I vented I realized my intense mood.  Then my friend said, “We’re not going to think like that.  Don’t think like that.”  And the next thing I knew my mood changed for the better.  I was calm.  My negative thoughts were veering towards positive thoughts.  I was happy again.  And, as a result, I was open to God and the Universe.  My openness brought forth the below fruit of wisdom:

Snakes are sometimes perceived as evil, but they are also perceived as medicine.  If you look at an ambulance, there’s the two snakes on the side of the ambulance.  The caduceus, or the staff of Hermes, there’s the two snakes going up it, which means that the venom can also be healing.  —Nicolas Cage

 

Leave a Reply

