I Know You’re Mad at United but… (Thoughts from a Pilot Wife About Flight 3411)

I never read anything about the incident that took place on United Airlines concerning the removal of a passenger; however, you can’t help but to hear people talk about it. Sadly they make it seem like it was racially motivated.

After reading this bloggers post on the matter I can’t help but to wonder if the man brought it on himself. Sorry. But after reading he was removed and he ran back on the plane as an angry elf, no one really knew what his disdain could have given birth to and how it would affect the other passengers. Therefore, he was treated as a possible threat to others and was apprehended for his poor choice.

So I, with much regret, agree with how he was finally removed. He had the power to leave on his own accord and chose not.

The Pilot Wife Life

If there’s one thing I have learned over the years, it’s that there are always two sides to every story.

On April 9th, a very unfortunate incident played out on United Flight 3411, the video of which has since gone viral causing a mass social media uprising with an ‘off-with-their-heads’ mentality. I mean, across the board. Fire ’em all and let the gods sort it out later.

Look, I get it. When I first saw the video I was appalled too. To say that it was inflammatory would be putting it mildly. But it was also a situation that was escalated far beyond the boundaries of necessity.

If a federal law enforcement officer asks me to exit a plane, no matter how royally pissed off I am, I’m going to do it and then seek other means of legal reimbursement. True story.

Knowing what I know about airport security, I’m

View original post 1,540 more words

Leave a Reply

